top of page

Swanning Around Spain



When I went on a little trip to Spain I spent a few days in Barcelona and then travelled down to Salou and on to Sitges before coming back to spend a final day in Barcelona.


Barcelona

I did travel with a friend at the time and had such a lovely time that they are memories I will always be fond of. We did some of the usual touristy things of a tour of Sagrada Familia and walking around Park Guell. I personally enjoyed the atmosphere of Barcelona, the city was vibrant and full of life. I'd love to go back and explore for another couple of days, this time to focus on other parts of the city.


We walked around a lot of the city but I do not feel like we managed to cover it all. Our first night we did go simple and enjoyed a meal at the Hard Rock Cafe.


The second night we tried to find somewhere to enjoy tapas, I don't remember the name of the place we found but it was nice food!



Salou - PortAventura World

We travelled down to Salou as the friend I was with had decided they really wanted to go to Port Aventura. Whilst the theme park is probably great for those with children, I did not rate it myself. I much preferred to explore the surrounding areas on the drive to Sitges. We stopped a few times just to enjoy the views!


Sitges

When we arrived at Sitges we were staying in a little apartment above a restaurant and the view from the room was straight on to the little beach for the town, waking up with the windows open was lovely. We spent our first day in Sitges on a boat (I get very sea sick -especially in little boats so they were lucky I agreed to this... it didn't last long and I tried my best!)


Whilst staying in Sitges we found the most amazing little tapas restaurant that was full of locals so we knew the food was going to be great! The restaurant was called El Cable if you ever want to try it out whilst in the area - best Patatas Bravas I've had, my friend also said the best Calamari they've ever had!


On the drive back to Barcelona the next day we kept stopping on the back coastal roads because the views were stunning! I'd love to go back to the Sitges area and explore more!

I would recommend a visit to Sitges if you don't mind the couple of hours drive from Barcelona.



bottom of page