top of page
  • Megzie Moments

Roaming around Rome

Last summer we took a trip to Rome for my fiancé's birthday. Rome has been on both of our travel lists for quite some time and to say we were so excited to go is a bit of an understatement.


We travelled from Manchester to Rome and caught the bus and then the train from the airport to the central train terminal which was near our hotel. We got to the hotel at around 7pm so had a quick shower and change before heading out to find somewhere to eat. We had a little wander round where we were staying but headed back to the hotel for an early night. We'd had an early start that morning as our flight was meant to have been at 9am but it was delayed until almost 2pm.


The next day it was my fiancé's birthday and I had booked a tour of the Colosseum which included a tour of Roman Forum and Palantine Hill. I'd booked an early morning tour at 10:30am thinking we would be out of the heat before midday... but how wrong I was 😅


The tour started with the walk to the Roman Forum and Palantine Hill. We learnt a lot about the ruins we saw and had gorgeous views of the city from Palantine Hill. We then headed to the Colosseum where we finally entered the arena at around 12pm (full midday heat in July). Now I was around 9 weeks pregnant and already nauseous all day every day at this point. The heat plus the morning sickness and I almost passed out in the Colosseum!


I still loved looking around the Colosseum and it has been a bucket list moment for a long time. However, I'd like to go back to appreciate it more in a lot cooler weather!


The rest of the day we spent wandering around the city and also took a City Sightseeing bus tour. We had wanted to go and look around the Vatican etc but with the weather we were not suitably dressed so decided to skip it. We will definitely return to Rome in the future so we can do the things we missed.


With the heat and my morning sickness I went back to the hotel at around 4pm and spent the next few hours alternating throwing up and passing out. I felt awful that I was ruining a trip we had been excited about for so long, but I can't help morning sickness 🙈


At about 9pm that night we went out to find somewhere for food (I didn't really eat much due to the sickness). Once we had eaten we walked to the Trevi Fountain and sat there for a while just enjoying it being a little cooler. There were lots of people that try to get you to buy things or pay them to take your photo etc. You have to either ignore them or tell them no constantly and of course keep valuables close.


The next day we walked to the Spanish Steps and just generally wandered around the city before we had to head back to the airport.


I feel like with the heat and being pregnant I didn't make the most of our trip to Rome and I would love to go back when it's cooler to enjoy it more and see all the things we missed!


bottom of page