top of page
  • Megzie Moments

Fostering Greyhounds

Whilst the world's pandemic had been going on and I was on furlough, I helped my mum foster ex-racing greyhounds.


It was really rewarding to foster these greyhounds, even if it was been a little heartbreaking. So far since 23rd March we have fostered Billy who was only with us for 10 days before he found his new home! We then tried to foster Max, but unfortunately he did not get on with Lacey and Milo at all so he had to go to a different home for fostering. Titan was our next foster and he was here for a month before he found his new home - he is my heartbreaking story! I will go in to more detail about Titan in a few moments. After Titan came Bertie who again unfortunately did not get on with Lacey and Milo and went to a different foster home, our most recent foster was Forest she has also broken my heart in 10 days!

So to why Titan broke my heart... he was with us for 4 weeks and I fell in love with him as he was such a character! He's one of the biggest greyhounds I have ever seen and he was just so cute, all he wanted was to get a fuss from you, his bed to lie in, lots of food and a squeaky ball to play with in the garden.


He was such a gentle giant and he definitely loved me as much as I loved him as he did not want to leave for his new home straight away and I definitely sobbed my little heart out at him leaving.

Even though it was heartbreaking watching him leave and as much as I would have loved for him to stay I know that the few weeks of living with us gave him the confidence to be around new people as he was extremely shy and wary to begin with.


I would definitely recommend people to give fostering a try especially if they have the time to help a dog become confident in themselves, I know when everyone is back at work and we have less time it is going to be harder but I think helping a dog find his forever home is amazing.






bottom of page