top of page
  • Megzie Moments

Adopting a Greyhound

In 2020 I moved in to my first home with my boyfriend. I found myself missing having animals around and was trying to persuade him to get a pet with me.


My mum was fostering a greyhound in October 2020 and when we went to visit I absolutely fell in love with the beautiful boy there. We went home and discussed whether we could and should adopt him. Eventually near the end of the month we decided yes we would adopt him and on 31st October 2020 we adopted out boy Arlo.



At first he was shy but comfortable in our home. Any loud noise and he jumped out of his skin, he has a scar on the top of his nose so it wouldn't surprise me if he was hit whilst in racing kennels or when they tried to breed from him, which I believe is why he used to jump out of his skin at raised voices etc.


The more relaxed he became in our home and on walks and his personality came shining through. He's a cheeky boy who likes to push boundaries and we wouldn't have him any other way.


He's now fully comfortable and at ease after living with us for 2 and a half years. Although now his life has been turned upside down by having a human brother!


I couldn't imagine our life without Arlo and I'm so glad we chose to adopt an ex-racing greyhound and give him the best life after everything he had been through 💕



bottom of page