top of page
  • Megzie Moments

Postpartum Fitness

After giving birth as much as I love being a mum to my little boy, I was so ready to get back to the things I enjoyed before I got pregnant.


My entire pregnancy I missed being able to go to my pole fitness classes, so I was so excited for being able to go back after birth. I waited until I went to my 6 week check up with the doctor where they said I could start exercising again. I went that night and my gosh it was so hard, I felt like I had never done it before again. It's hard work trying to build up my fitness levels again after only really doing long walks for my entire pregnancy.


I've been back to 4 classes now and it's still so difficult as my strength has gone and my stamina is none existent. Its frustrating when my head knows that I can do the moves being taught and it's just my lack of fitness right now that is stopping me.


I've also started a fitness class that is tailored to postpartum fitness, it's really good as I can take my little boy with me. He can watch me from the playmats laid out in front of us or when he's being fussy I can incorporate him in to the exercises.


Not only can I take my little boy with me and enjoy fitness at the same time. The exercises are based around healing post pregnancy, building your core back up and the pelvic floor. I wouldn't have even thought about how different exercises could affect me post birth.


Its a struggle to remember that my body is different at the moment and is still technically healing from pregnancy and birth. However, it's a positive that I have managed to start back to classes and even start a new fitness class to help me get back to where I was pre pregnancy.


I'd definitely suggest searching your local areas to see if there are any postpartum fitness classes near you if you want exercises tailored to your new healing body!



bottom of page